Fun for the party – Funfetti Cookie Sandwiches

At the last minute, I decided to bake something for my department’s graduation party. Since I wanted to make something festive and didn’t have much time, I knew these  Funfetti Sandwich Cookies from Baked Perfection would be perfect! This recipe uses store-bought cake mix, making it great for when you’re short on time, but still want to make something for a party.

For a while, I was a bit snobby and didn’t like to follow recipes that used store-bought ingredients, like cake mix or frosting. But sometimes, you just want to bake something quick without too much effort. For this reason, I sometimes buy break-and-bake cookies, just to satisfy my baking needs. (My favorite kind is Immaculate Baking Co. Triple Chocolate Cookie Dough). So even though this recipe uses store-bought cake mix, I actually really like it… but maybe that’s because I was crunched for time. 😛

The recipe is so simple that you don’t really have to think about anything. Just add 2 eggs, 1/3 cup of vegetable oil, 2 tablespoons of milk, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the cake mix. Stir until combined and bake. To be honest, the hardest and most time consuming part was spooning out all of the teaspoon sized cookies onto the baking sheets. And to speed this recipe up even more, I didn’t make my own frosting and just used store-bought cream cheese frosting instead.

As I was assembling the cookie sandwiches, I realized that this is a great recipe for kids to help out with. Kids could definitely handle this recipe since it only requires stirring in a few ingredients. Also, I can see kids having a great time making the sandwiches and rolling them in sprinkles. Even though I didn’t start early in the kitchen, I think it’s great when kids help out with cooking or baking. A lot of people dislike cooking and treat it as a chore. But I believe if you start cooking with your kids early and show them how much fun it is, they’ll enjoy cooking all throughout their lives.

These funfetti cookie sandwiches were definitely delicious given how quickly people devoured them at the party, which is always a good sign. And even though I don’t often like to use store-bought mixes, it’s nice taking a little shortcut to save time once in a while.

Leave a comment