Never waste – Green Onion Sesame Rolls

One of my roommates loves to go grocery shopping, which is great for us because we always have a stocked fridge. However, sometimes she buys things that we don’t end up using until it’s too late (i.e. the food has started rotting). Last month, she bought a large pack of green onions, but no one cooked anything with them. I always feel bad throwing out food. Growing up with parents who were farmers in China has taught me not to waste food. Since my parents know firsthand how difficult it is to grow food, they don’t like to waste food, even the smallest amount. So when I saw this recipe for green onion rolls, I knew it was the perfect way to use up our sad, wilting green onions.

         

This recipe is pretty straightforward. Just make a basic bread dough, chop up lots of green onions, and roll out the dough. Then, generously sprinkle the dough with green onions, roll the dough into a log, slice the log up and bake. After slicing up the log, you’ll get these beautiful looks rolls, chockful of green onions. Sprinkling black and white sesame seeds on top gives the rolls as nice pop of color too.

These green onion rolls baked and browned absolutely beautifully! And they smelled so delicious from the oven! However, I was a little disappointed in the flavor. They tasted good, but I felt something was missing. In my critical opinion, they were a tad too bland. Perhaps I should have added a bit more salt or some spice? Regardless, these green onion rolls were tasty, proven by the fact that my roommates gobbled them up so quickly.

In spite of the slight blandness, these rolls were a great addition to our dinner that evening. I’d suggest making these for a potluck or a dinner party – you’ll definitely impress the guests. And it’s a great way to get rid of lots of green onions all at once!

Green Onion Sesame Rolls
Adapted from Priscilla Liang’s Easy Fluffy No-Knead Bread

For the Dough:
1/2 cup warm water
2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons yeast
1 egg
2 cups bread flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons butter

For the Filling:
Several stalks of green onion
1-2 tablespoons salt
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon sesame oil

Egg wash (1 egg beaten with water)
Black and white sesame seeds to garnish

1. Dissolve the sugar in warm water and sprinkle yeast on top. Let rest for 10 minutes or until foamy.
2. Combine and mix the flour and salt in a large bowl.
3. Add the yeast mixture, egg, and butter to the dry mixture.
4. Mix the dough until it comes together. Move the dough onto a well-floured surface and knead for several minutes until dough is smooth. Add additional flour as needed.
5. Transfer dough to a lightly greased bowl. Cover with a towel or plastic wrap and allow it to double in size, roughly one hour. (You can also refrigerate the dough overnight, but make sure to let dough sit at room temperature for 20-30 minutes to warm up before rolling).
6. Punch the dough with your fist. Roll the dough into a rectangle of approximately 1/3 inch thick.
7. Spread the olive oil and sesame oil onto the dough.  Sprinkle the salt and green onion evenly over the dough.
8. Roll and cut the dough into 16 pieces.
9. Line two loaf pans with parchment paper and place 8 rolls into each pan.
10. Cover the pans with a damp cloth and let the rolls rise in a warm place for approximately 30 minutes.
11. Brush the rolls with the egg wash and sprinkle the tops with black and white sesame seeds.
12. Bake at 400F for 30-40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a roll comes out clean.
13. Serve with dinner or enjoy as a snack!

This post has been Yeastspotted and submitted to Bake Your Own Bread.

7 thoughts on “Never waste – Green Onion Sesame Rolls

  1. Hmm. Seeing as how I love me some bread AND green onions…this is going on my “to bake” list. I’m playing around with some ideas for your “blandness” issue. I was thinking about garlic, but that would be too strong with the onions. (Garlic is my first choice for everything…lol). I think I’m going to spread a very thin layer of Ricotta and S&P (heavy on the P) or perhaps a cheesier goodness for the inside with the onions, and brush tops with butter before baking.
    I was born and raised in Austin. I live in NW PA now. I have a sweet daughter we adopted from China back in 2002 when she was six months old.
    So what do you miss most from Austin (besides it’s overall awesomeness)?

    Tracee

    • Great ideas! Despite using a lot of green onions, I didn’t think the onion flavor was very strong, so I think garlic would be a great to use. Spreading ricotta on the inside sounds delicious. You could also try sprinkling a layer of shredded cheese (and garlic). I’m sure that would be pretty awesome. You’ve got me brainstorming now! Thanks! Haha.

      That’s so cool you were born and raised in Austin. I miss it so much and I’m sure you do too! I guess what I miss most is just the feel of the city – how friendly and laid back it is. I loved just walking around downtown, on Congress, exploring the city. Even though I love the fast pace of big cities, I liked how Austin was more chill. I guess I also miss its quirkiness too. Keep Austin Weird!

  2. Good God these look fabulous! I love the green onion pancakes served in Shanghainese and Taiwanese restaurants and I can only imagine that the flavour profile for these gorgeous rolls is the same. My parents were farmers in China too and they taught me that it’s one of the worst sins to throw away good food. To this day I won’t leave a single grain of rice in my bowl after eating. So glad you found a way to turn those sad green onions into something delicious!

  3. Pingback: green onions - The Sleepy Time Gal

Leave a comment