Apple Ginger Brioche Rolls

Apples and ginger are two of my favorite ingredients… like seriously. I eat an apple everyday for breakfast and am a HUGE ginger fan. So much of a fan that I’ll just eat pickled ginger and candied ginger alone. So ever since I saw this recipe for apple ginger brioche rolls, I’ve been dying to make them.

Being a bit afraid of butter, I’d always shy away from brioche recipes. Putting a whole stick (or even more) of butter into anything always grossed me out a bit. But I’ve since gotten over my little fear and have been wanting to make brioche for a while. I read somewhere that in earlier times, when butter was an expensive commodity and a sign of wealth, the amount of butter that was put into the dough showed how rich you were. So, a rich man’s brioche had a cup of butter while a poor man’s brioche had a mere two tablespoons. I love little food facts like that.

I decided to be more like a poor man, and keep the butter content on the low side. But if you wanted your bread to be richer, you could probably increase the butter. I also modified the filling a bit by adding a tablespoon of cinnamon. I used Saigon cinnamon, which seems to be a bit spicier, but only because that’s all we had. (Just a tip for you Costco shoppers, buy a big jar of Saigon cinnamon, it’s only $3!) If you aren’t a huge ginger fan, you might want to decrease the ginger a bit. Even I, a bonafide ginger lover, thought the heat from the ginger was a bit strong and had quite the kick.

The best part of these brioche rolls is that they will make your house smell amazing! From making the filling to baking the rolls, my mouth watered as I took in the aromas of the spices. However, be careful, these rolls are pretty messy. As I cut the rolled up dough, the filling oozed out. Not wanting to waste any of it, I coated a few pieces of the leftover dough with the delicious filling, which tasted amazing! These rolls bake up beautifully and look just like baked goods you’d find at Starbucks, especially with the parchment paper wrapping. Your friends and family won’t believe it when you say you made them yourself. :)

Apple Ginger Brioche Rolls
Adapted from this recipe

3 cups bread flour
2 tsp active dry yeast
1/2 cup warm milk
4 tbsp soft butter
2 eggs (lightly beaten)
3 tbsp sugar
1 apple, chopped into small cubes
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp ginger powder
1 tbsp cinnamon

2 tbsp sugar and 2 tbsp water for the sugar glaze (I forgot about this… and the rolls still tasted delicious!)

1) Preheat oven to 350F and cut 8 squares of parchment paper to fit eight muffin tins.
2) Mix the sugar and half of the warm milk in a large bowl.
3) Proof yeast by dissolving 1 teaspoon of sugar in warm milk and then sprinkling yeast on top. Let yeast dissolve and bubble for five minutes.
4) Add 1 cup of flour and lightly beaten eggs to the sugar and milk mixture. Mix until fairly smooth. Then add the proofed yeast and stir to combine.
5) Mix in the rest of the flour in batches until dough comes together. Then move dough onto countertop and knead for 5-10 min. (Note: this dough is very sticky and that’s ok! Just keep flouring your countertop as you knead. If you feel the dough is too liquid-y, add more flour.)
6) Knead in the softened butter a few tablespoons at a time until you have incorporated all of the butter. Place dough back into the bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate overnight.
7) As dough rises in refrigerator, make the filling by mixing the chopped apple, brown sugar, ginger powder, and cinnamon together.
8) The next morning, take dough out and set aside to warm up. Then take the dough out (it will probably still be a bit sticky) and roll into a large rectangle.
9) Spread the filling onto the dough and roll the dough up into a long log.
10) Slice the log into eight pieces (or more) and place each piece in a paper lined muffin tin.
11) Let rolls rise for at least 30 minutes or doubled in size.
12) Bake at 350F for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.
13) Enjoy the rolls straight from the oven or brush with the sugar glaze. (You can quickly make the sugar glaze by placing the sugar and water into a pot and bringing them to a boil for a minute.)

This post has been Yeastspotted.

6 thoughts on “Apple Ginger Brioche Rolls

  1. They look lovely. I’m with you on avoiding high butter baked items and will usually cut the butter somewhat, or replace some of it with canola oil. The apple/cinnamon/ginger combination sounds wonderful. Definitely something I’ll keep in mind come Fall. Thanks for sharing!

    This is my first time visiting your blog. I found it through YeastSpotting :o)

    • Thanks for visiting my blog! Yeastspotting is a great way to find new recipes and blogs, isn’t it?

      I’ve found that cutting out some of the butter or replacing it with oil doesn’t change the final product very much. The same goes for these rolls. No one could tell that I put only a third of the butter in. You should definitely try this recipe out in the Fall! :D

  2. I finally had a chance to try your recipe today – after watching my apples from my apple picking adventure languish on my countertop for a week! I became confused in steps 2-4 (I wasn’t sure which milk and sugar was being referred to in the various steps) and it resulted in me never adding the 3 Tbsp of sugar to the dough. Given I mixed things at different points and my dough had less tenderizing sugar, my results are not what they should be – but they were good! The dough itself wasn’t super sticky (I have experience baking bread so I immediately knew something was off) and I wasn’t able to incorporate all the flour or fat (full disclosure: I used semi-solid coconut oil because I didn’t have butter), but despite my concerns they eventually rose when in roll form and appear to have turned out well! I’ll definitely try again, this time following your recipe more closely now that I realize where I went wrong. I might also add more milk and use butter in the hopes of getting the dough to be closer to your description. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

    A picture of my results: http://instagram.com/p/tXzthRk8JG/

    (And I meant to note that you might want to move step 1 (preheating your oven) – since the bread rises overnight, you probably don’t want to preheat your oven until the rolls are rising)

    • Hi Lauren,

      Thank you for your comment! I’m glad you finally got to try this recipe out!

      I refer to ingredients in the order they are listed (i.e. the milk and sugar in step 2 are the 1/2 cup warm milk and 3 tbsp sugar). Sorry about the confusion.

      Your brioche rolls look beautiful! I hope you do try the recipe again!

Leave a Reply

